top of page

A new look...

It's currently Blog June and (...although I've not got my act together nearly enough to write a blog post for each day of this month as some people are doing) I thought I'd use the opportunity to spruce up my own blog a little. I figured the old Blogger template was starting to look a bit dated and also that it's about time I gave this website-making malarkey a go too. Any feedback is very welcome!

I've written-up a trip to Poland which I did earlier this year, including libraries I saw in Poznań, Gdansk and Warsaw.

IMG_5484.JPG

Warsaw University Library

In other library news, it was fantastic to see Kensal Rise Library flinging open its doors again in June after a long and hardfought campaign. The community hosted a special celebratory event in anticipation of occupying 2/3rds of the ground floor from next year:

IMG_5859.jpg

More good news followed at work this month, as the Green Impact team which I am a part of won some 5 awards for our efforts in improving sustainability around the university's LRCs!

My latest trip took me to Lisbon where I've visited precisely zero libraries (hey, we all need a break sometimes!). I did wander into the rather fantastic Ler Devagar bookshop though, complete with mechanised flying bikes and unicycles!:

IMG_6036.JPG

I've still got the Cycling for Libraries New Nordic Tour to come this Autumn. The "homework" (involving regular cycle rides of 30km or more) has begun in earnest and I look forward to meeting up with the #Cyc4lib gang again!

IMG_6117.JPG

Cycling for Libraries arriving at Palais Saint-Jean Bibliothèque, Lyon at the end of last year's tour

Tag Cloud
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Google+ B&W
Contact me via...
bottom of page